Gospel Humility

God always teaches me in stages. Almost as if the Holy Spirit has some sort of systematic method of teaching me diverse subjects. I come to places in my life where it feels that every book I read, every Scripture I study, everything I hear, every sermon I download (and sometimes even every lesson I teach!) is about the same subject—like God is just pounding it into me from every possible angle! The subject of this particular phase in my learning is Gospel-humility. That may not be obvious from my life…. probably the very reason its so present in me.

Solomon says, “Surely there is not a righteous man on earth who does good and never sins.” In other words, we’re all in the same boat. The only thing separating Christians from the unregenerate world is the Gospel, and the Gospel doesn’t allow for pride. Any time I feel a sense of pride because of my blood-bought position (or maybe my theological convictions), I testify of my own ignorance of the Gospel. The Gospel is intrinsically humbling, because it says, “I am so BAD (and not in a Michael Jackson sort of way) that God had to become incarnate and DIE to save me!” The Gospel doesn’t allow for any boasting except for the boasting in the work Christ! How can we look at the cross and be anything but humble? Paul speaks boldly on this subject in Romans three. Pay special attention to the last verse.

“…there is no distinction: for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, and are justified by his grace as a gift, through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus, whom God put forward as a propitiation by his blood, to be received by faith. This was to show God’s righteousness, because in his divine forbearance he had passed over former sins. It was to show his righteousness at the present time, so that he might be just and the justifier of the one who has faith in Jesus. Then what becomes of our boasting? It is excluded. By what kind of law? By a law of works? No, but by the law of faith” (Romans 3:22-27 ESV).

Praise God for His grace!

To be prideful is not to fully understand the Gospel. I would like the write more on this subject, but for the sake of your time I’ll leave it at that.

My neighbor is a better man than I
And from your hands do all good things derive
So if my heart should swell
And of itself think well
Then humble me till I am fully thine

There’s war within my fragile skin
A violent revolt for mastery over my soul
Control is the strong man’s hoax
Skill and wealth are my only hope
A selfish grasping for worthless thrones
And it tells me “I am greatest”

So I gave it not one inch
Still it spread throughout my limbs
For my solace in the victory
Was the proof of my defeat

Who is worth anything apart from you?
Who could own anything?

My neighbor is a better man than I
And from your hands do all good things derive
So if my heart should swell
And of itself think well
Then humble me till I am fully thine

I’ve been turning wine to water
And crippling my healthy brothers
I’m walking on the ocean floor
And stirring up the fiercest storms

No, I did not pour out these tides
Or tell these planets to align
My breath could never give new life
So why am I so full of pride? (My Epic, “Lest We Die”)

Please rate, comment, and sign up for email updates!

Leave a Reply

